9.2 C
New York
Wednesday, March 29, 2023

Buy now

Health Minister Aceng withdraws from speakership race

Health Minister Aceng withdraws from speakership race

The ruling NRM party Electoral Commission boss Dr. Tanga Odoi has confirmed that Minister Jane Ruth Aceng has officially withdrawn her expression of interest in the Speakership.

By the close of business yesterday, 13 NRM MPs had expressed interest in parliament’s top job.

According to Tanga Odoi, 12 names will therefore be forwarded to the Secretary-General, who will then forward them to the party Central Executive Committee (CEC).

The 12 MPs include; Anita Among – Deputy Speaker, Jacob Oboth Oboth – Minister of Defense (General duties), Jackson Kafuuzi – Deputy Attorney General, Hamson Obua – Minister of State for Sports, Amos John Okot – Agago North, Theodore Ssekikubo – MP, Lwemiyaga, Pius Wakabi – Mp, Bugahya county, Florence Akiiki Asiimwe – Masindi Woman MP, Felix Okot Ogong – MP, Dokolo South, Sarah Opendi – Tororo. Woman MP, Atima Jackson Lee Buti – MP, Arua City central division, and Brandon Alex Kintu – MP, Kagoma North.

The CEC will hold a meeting today ahead of the caucus meeting on Thursday. Voting for the Speaker is slated for Friday.

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -

Latest Articles